Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Quick Snippets

# Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh launched the Jawaharlal Nehru National Solar Mission Solar India on January 11, 2010 which aims at creating an istalled capacity of 20000 Megawatt by the end of the 13th Five Year Plan, i.e. by 2022.

# The 2008 Dada Saheb Phalke Award has been given to legendary cinematographer V.K. Murthy.

#Following 6 persons have honoured with Padma Vibhushan- the second highest civilian honour of the country:

ArtEbrahim Alkazi, Umayalpuram K. Sivaraman, Zohra Segal

Public Affairs

Y.V. Reddy
Trade & IndustryPrathap Reddy
Science & EngineeringVenkatraman Ramakrishnan

#The new chief of Army Staff is Lieutenant General V.K. Singh. He will take over on March 31st, 2010.

#Newly appointed governors of various states are:

Shivraj PatilPunjab
K. SankaranarayananMaharashtra
E.S.L. NarasimhanAndhra Pradesh
M.O.H. Farook Jharkhand
Prabha RaoRajasthan
M.K. NarayananWest Bengal
Shekhar DuttChhattisgarh
Urmila BenHimachal Pradesh

# Andhra Pradesh government signed three agreements with the World Bank on January 22, 2010 to receive loan assistance of Rs. 3720 crore to fund three projects to develop roads.

#ISRO recently successfully tested its biggest and most powerful rocket motor called S-200 powered by 200 tonnes of solid propellants on January 24, 2010 at Sriharikota.

# Shiv Shankar Menon is the new National Security Advisor replacing M.K. Narayanan who has been appointed governor of West Bengal.

# The Lokmanya Tilak Award has been conferred on the Editor-in-Chief of the Hindu on the 129th foundation day of the Kesari newspaper started by Lokmanya Tilak in 1881.

# Tamil Nadu won the men's title of the 58th National Volleyball Championship in Gwalior on January 6, 2010 with Railways taking the women's title in the same tournament.